Board Members

James Balog, Extreme Ice Survey Founder and Director, Board Chair

James Balog has been a leader in photographing, understanding and interpreting the natural environment for three decades. An avid mountaineer with a graduate degree in geography and geomorphology, James founded the Extreme Ice Survey (EVT) in 2007. National Geographic showcased his glacial photography in the June 2007 and June 2010 issues. James has been recognized with the Heinz Award; the Missouri School of Journalism’s Honor Medal for Distinguished Service; the Aspen Institute’s Visual Arts & Design Award; the Galen and Barbara Rowell Award for the Art of Adventure; the Leica Medal of Excellence; and numerous other awards. He was named “Person of the Year” for 2011 by PhotoMedia magazine. James is the author of eight books and is regularly published in the world’s major visual magazines. In 1996, he was the first photographer ever commissioned by the U.S. Postal Service to create a full series of stamps.

Virginia Jordan, Vice-President

Ginny Jordan, MFA has been involved in the Non-profit sector, both as development consultant and director for the past 30 years. She is co-founder and President of the Board of Beadforlife, a non-profit in Uganda working with women to help raise themselves out of the cycle of poverty. She also currently serves on the Board of the Cricket Island foundation.

She is a psychotherapist, poet and writer.

Konrad Steffen, Secretary

Dr. Konrad (Koni) Steffen is the Director of the Swiss Federal Research Institute WSL and a Professor in Climate and Cryosphere at the Institute for Atmosphere and Climate at the Swiss Federal Institute for Technology (ETH) in Zürich, Switzerland. He is responsible for vital instrumentation deployed in the Arctic to help us monitor the significant changes taking place on the Greenland Ice Sheet.  Without his work, human knowledge of Arctic climate, warming, and melting dynamics would be substantially diminished. He has led field expeditions to the Greenland ice sheet, to Antarctica, and other Polar Regions for the past 35 years to measure the dynamic response of ice masses under a warming climate. He has published over 120 peer-reviewed papers and 10 book chapters. The last 24 years he spent at the University of Colorado and led the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES) before returning to his homeland in July 2012. He is currently the Chair of the GCOS/TOPC Panel, participates in the NASA Earth Science Subcommittee advising board, is a member of the Advising Board of the Alfred Wegner Institute for Polar and Marine Sciences in Germany, and a lead author of the IPCC AR5 assessment for the Cryosphere chapter.

Kit Laybourne

Kit Laybourne’s career has blended his passions for being a teacher, producer, author, and an enthusiast of new technologies. His television work included executive producing with Oxygen, Nickelodeon, MTV, Tele-TV, HBO, PBS and The Whistle. He was Associate Professor within the New School’s Media Studies program and has published two volumes: “The Animation Book” (Crown), and “Mediapedia” (Globe Pequot Press).